Public Holidays / Closures
PUBLIC HOLIDAYS / CLOSURES – INDIA AND NEPAL

The Australia Visa Application Centre in India, Nepal and the Australian High Commission, New Delhi (visa section) will be closed for the following public holidays in 2014.

Sr. No. Day Date Holidays Australian High Commission, New Delhi New Delhi Chandigarh Kolkata Chennai Bangalore
1 Wednesday 1 January New Year Day x x x x x x
2 Tuesday 14 January Pongal/Makarsakranti         x x
3 Monday 27 January In lieu of Australia Day/
Republic Day
x x x x x x
4 Monday 17 March Holi x x x x    
5 Monday 31 March Ugadi            
6 Monday 14 April Nepali New Year            
7 Tuesday 15 April Vishu            
8 Friday 18 April Good Friday x x x x x x
9 Monday 21 April Easter Monday x x x x x x
10 Wednesday 14 May Buddha Jayanti            
11 Monday 9 June Queen’s Birthday x x x x x x
12 Friday 15 August Independence Day x x x x x x
13 Monday 18 August Janmashtami x x x   x x
14 Friday 29 August Ganesh Chaturthi         x x
15 Friday 5 September Onam            
16 Monday 8 September Ganesh Visarjan            
17 Wednesday 1 October Dashain            
18 Thursday 2 October Dashain/ Gandhi Jayanti x x x x x x
19 Friday 3 October Dashain/Navami/ Dusherra x x x x    
20 Wednesday 8 October Laxmi Puja       x    
21 Thursday 23 October Diwali /Tihar x x x x x x
22 Friday 24 October Goverdhan Puja/Tihar x x x x x x
23 Thursday 25 December Christmas Day x x x x x x
24 Friday 26 December Boxing Day x x x x x x


Sr. No. Day Date Holidays Australian High Commission, New Delhi Cochin Hyderabad Mumbai Ahemadabad Nepal
1 Wednesday 1 January New Year Day x x x x x x
2 Tuesday 14 January Pongal/Makarsakranti     x   x  
3 Monday 27 January In lieu of Australia Day/
Republic Day
x x x x x  
4 Monday 17 March Holi x     x   x
5 Monday 31 March Ugadi     x      
6 Monday 14 April Nepali New Year           x
7 Tuesday 15 April Vishu   x        
8 Friday 18 April Good Friday x x x x x x
9 Monday 21 April Easter Monday x x x x x x
10 Wednesday 14 May Buddha Jayanti           x
11 Monday 9 June Queen’s Birthday x x x x x x
12 Friday 15 August Independence Day x x x x x  
13 Monday 18 August Janmashtami x x     x  
14 Friday 29 August Ganesh Chaturthi     x      
15 Friday 5 September Onam   x        
16 Monday 8 September Ganesh Visarjan       x    
17 Wednesday 1 October Dashain           x
18 Thursday 2 October Dashain/ Gandhi Jayanti x x x x x x
19 Friday 3 October Dashain/Navami/ Dusherra x x   x x x
20 Wednesday 8 October Laxmi Puja            
21 Thursday 23 October Diwali /Tihar x x x x x x
22 Friday 24 October Goverdhan Puja/Tihar x   x x x x
23 Thursday 25 December Christmas Day x x x x x x
24 Friday 26 December Boxing Day x x x x x x

Please Note the Visa Application Centre which are marked as “x” are closed on a said date and the other centers which are blank will remain open.
Please Note the VFS Australia Call Center will remain closed on the holidays which are applicable to New Delhi Center in the above list.